The Book of Lost Things – John Connolly

cvr9780743298902_9780743298902_hr

Blurb: “High in his attic bedroom, twelve-year-old David mourns the death of his mother, with only the books on his shelf for company. But those books have begun to whisper to him in the darkness. Angry and alone, he takes refuge in his imagination and soon finds the reality and fantasy have begun to meld. While his family falls apart around him, David is violently propelled into a world that is a strange reflection of his own — populated by heroes and monsters and ruled by a faded king who keeps his secrets in a mysterious book, The Book of Lost Things.”

I knew instantly from reading the blurb that I was going to love this book. However, I didn’t expect this book to stay with me as much as it has. I got lost completely in the beautiful description and elegant writing. I found myself reading at a slower pace than usual just to absorb the detail and work that went into making this book. Also, I didn’t want it to end.

I wasn’t sure what to make of the protagonist, David, at first. Taking that kind of typical, “protagonist loses a parents” trope feels really over-used to me, but this character was different. David, believes that it’s his fault because he didn’t keep up his tendencies such as hitting his head against things several times, and thus he didn’t save his mother. Following what he believes to be his mother’s voice, David finds himself in a fantasy world.

I simply cannot write enough words that will fully express my appreciation for this book. There were no lull periods you tend to come across, and the progression of not only the plot. but David’s character was just intoxicating to watch.

And the twist had the end quite frankly blew my mind. The adventure was so wonderful that I was genuinely upset when I reached the final line.

I can’t praise this book enough to do it justice. If you’re interested in Fantasy in any way (and more so fairy tale-esque fantasy) read this book!

Follow my reading adventures on Goodreads

Follow my writing adventures on Twitter

Leave a Reply

