Don’t Even Think About It – Sarah Mlynowski

21074867

Blurb: “What would you do if everyone could hear your thoughts? Your best friend. Your worst enemy. Your secret crush. No secrets. No privacy. No escape. Sounds like your worst nightmare, right? We should know. It happened to us.”

I made this blog because I am an avid reader and writer of Young Adult literature. I wanted to use this blog to rant and rave about my favourite reads, however, to ignore the not-so-great ones would be doing a disservice to those who read my blog.

This isn’t a book I would have picked out myself if I saw it on a shelf. It was given to me as a present last year. I originally liked the idea. The blurb is very intriguing which I’ve often found rare in Young Adult. Yet, when I started reading it, I instantly discovered a problem.

The story follows a group of high school teens who all get vaccinations. For some reason, they begin hearing voices and come to the realization that they can hear people’s thoughts. Wonderful idea and I love the originality here, but the problem for me is that it felt too rushed.

The big reveal as to why they have suddenly gained these powers comes very late in the book and I feel it would have felt much better learning this halfway through and then dealing with other aspects after. Instead, you’re basically told “this is why this is happening now turn the page, oh look you’ve finished the book!” It made me feel uncomfortable.

Truthfully, the only reason I persevered with this book is because it counts towards the 2015 reading challenge. If it wasn’t for that, I would have given it up after the first few chapters.

The character introductions were far too quick. You were bombarded with too many characters at a time and then there wasn’t much effort made to distinguish between them. They weren’t fleshed out enough for me to be able to relate to any of the characters or care what happened to them.

While I read primarily YA Fantasy, I do like the occasional YA contemporary romance but this just wasn’t it.

For more of my reading adventures follow my Goodreads

For my writing adventures follow my Twitter

Also, I have a book related instagram: charlottereadsthings

Leave a Reply

