Bookish Questions

I found a list of book-related questions so thought I’d answer them on this blog.

Author You’ve read The Most

I first thought of J.K.Rowling but then realised it’s actually Cassandra Clare as she’s written more books. I’ve read all her shadowhunter chronicles apart from the newest e-book series following Simon.

Best Sequel Ever

Sequels are very hit and miss in my opinion and pretty much everything I’ve been reading lately is a series. The one that really comes to mind is “Insurgent” by Veronica Roth.

Currently reading

A Clash of Kings by George R.R Martin
The Coldest Girl In Coldtown by Holly Black

Drink of choice while reading

I don’t really drink while I read. I’m afraid of spilling them and damaging my books.But if I’m reading in a coffee shop it’s normally hot chocolate.

E-Reader or Physical Book

I own a kindle and it’s one of the handiest things I own. It makes reading on the go a lot easier as it takes up less space but I adore physical books. The books I buy on my kindle are ones I’m not sure if I’ll like, so they don’t take up space if I end up giving up on them. Or if I’m not too hyped about them. The ones I’m really excited for/ are by authors I love, I get in physical copy.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School

Jace from The Mortal Instruments series. He’s a badass. Younger me would love him. 

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance

Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth. Four is my least favourite character from the Divergent series so I was unsure as to whether I would like this, given it was a book of short stories about him. But I trusted Veronica and it was well placed. I actually really enjoyed it and liked learning the writing process behind Four and Divergent which were provided in the introduction. 

Hidden Gem Book

This Book Is Gay by James Dawson. I don’t often read non-fiction. But this Young Adult book is basically a gay to all things gender & Sexuality. It’s really informative and a book I wish had been around when I was a teenager. 

Important Moment In Your reading Life

I have two important moments.

Peter Pan: The first time I read this book I was blown away by the world that had been created and the beauty of the story. I remember thinking “wow I want to write something like that” and thus I became  writer.

City of Bones: This book helped me realise that while I was fluttering around in writing Young Adult, my writing home was Young Adult Fantasy. This book made it clear that’s the genre of writing I want to pursue. 

Just Finished

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Kind of books you won’t read

I tend to avoid non-fiction and the romance books. I’m not opposed to reading adult fiction as I love Giovanna Fletcher & Cecelia Ahern but I don’t actively go to those sections in a bookstore. 

Longest Book You’ve Read

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Major book hangover because of…

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Number of Bookcases You Own

I actually don’t own any bookshelves. I just have piles of books on my floor at the moment because I’ve run out of space. I should really invest in a bookcase.

One Book You’ve read Multiple Times

Harry Potter & The Half Blood Prince by J.K.Rowling.
It’s my favourite in the series.

Preferred Place To Read

I like reading in bed or on a sofa. As long as I have a blanket to keep me snug. 

Quote that inspires you/ gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read

“To die will be an awfully big adventure” – J.M.Barrie. (Peter Pan)

Reading Regret

Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowski. My boyfriend got it me as a birthday present so I felt bad when I really didn’t like it. The only reason I finished reading it was because it counted towards the 2015 reading challenge. 

Series you started and need to finish

The Mara Dyer series by Michelle Hodkin

Three of your all-time favourite books

Peter Pan by J.M.Barrie
Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

Unapologetic fangirl/fanboy for:

Harry Potter & Divergent

Very excited for this release more than all the others

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

Worst bookish habit

I have a habit of talking to the characters while I’m reading like “YOU IDIOT WHY DID YOU DO THAT? WAS THAT SMART? NO!” I do this even when there are other people in the room. Sometimes it accidently slips out when I’m reading in public.

X marks the spot: Start at the top of the left of your shelf and pick the 27th book

I did this with my piles of books. The result was Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

Latest Bookish Purchase

I’ve bought a few books so far this month:

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas
The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett
Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver
The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson
Hook’s Daughter by Heidi Schulz 

ZZZZZZZZZ-Snatcher book: last book that kept you up WAY late

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Perculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
For more of my reading adventures follow me on Goodreads

For more of my writing adventures follow me on Twitter

For my bookish photographs follow me on instagram: charlottereadsthings

Leave a Reply

