Into The Forest – Freedom Matthews

“Ravenzara became one of us, winged and powerful, the heir to our beloved forest. It is her turn to join the ranks and become the sorceress she was created to be.”

6rythgdbv

Blurb: “Before the Wilted Rose, the pirates who sailed upon it, or even a curse, there was a young faery who lived amongst the dense tress of the forest… a princess among a tribe of fantastical creatures. On the day of Ravenzara’s coronation as leader of the fae, her sister bestowed upon her two things: – a rose and a curse. No good shall come if you should give your heart away.”

Into The Forest is a prequel short story to the full length novel Inherited which is due to be released July 2016. I met Freedom Matthews at a book launch not too long ago and she is literally one of the loveliest people. I tried to get as much information about her upcoming releases and she was quite tight-lipped. Now I finally have an insight into the world with this story. So the joke’s on you now Freedom! HA!

The main thing you need to know is that there are faeries. I adore anything with faeries in so I was quite biased when I picked this up. The protagonist, Ravenzara, is preparing for her coronation following on from the death of her mother. Her rule is short lived when the pirates make an appearance on the island. They are wounded and many of them are close to death.  She is reunited with her lover Gaspard and together they sail off for many adventures (with the approval of her people of course!)

My favourite scene was a moment when Ravenzara is looking around a cabin on the ship and she replaces all the dust with flowers. It was such a beautiful scene described in such an elegant  way that I could see the event unfolding before my eyes as if I was in the room with her.

There’s sibling rivalry in the form of Tatiana; a character I liked the most and have discovered will play a bigger role in the sequel to Inherited.  There’s magic, faeries, pirates, exciting worlds. She’s not too happy about Ravenzara’s crowning, believing that it should have been her instead. I love seeing how kingdoms work and the kind of ideals they subscribe to so it was nice to not only get an insight into that but also see two different worlds collide together.

While I do talk to Freedom Matthews quite often, it would be unfair to only talk about the good (which there is plenty of). I’m aware that Freedom had a tight word count for this story but I felt like some of the description was lacking in places.  It was disorientating.  I also feel like this was out of order in the sense of it read like you already knew the characters so didn’t need that initial introduction to them and their relationships. It seems like something that would have worked better coming out after Inherited however, I have heard from another reviewer who has read Inherited that there are a lot of references you only get if you have read this short story. So I’ll be able to form more of an opinion on that once I’ve read Inherited. 

Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed Into The Forest and it has me very much interested in the world and I cannot wait to read her new book. Freedom Matthews has an astounding ability to create incredible worlds that I cannot wait to experience more of. She is definitely one to keep an eye on!

 

 

This release is ebook only.

For more of my reading adventures follow me on Goodreads

For my writing adventures follow me on Twitter

For my videos, check out my Youtube

For bookish photographs follow my instagram: @charlottereadsthings

2 thoughts on “Into The Forest – Freedom Matthews

    • neverlannd93 says:

      It really does! I read this a few weeks ago and since then I’ve read the full length novel “Inherited” (review of that will be up next week) and Freedom just seemed to know the world better in that one 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

