Mist And Whispers – C.M.Lucas

“Is it so far out there to believe there could be another world alongside ours? Think, how many stories have we read that have taken place in other worlds?”

Mist and Whispers

Blurb: “In the West-English town of Little Wolf Green, Scott’s bookshop is about to close down. Convinced the bookshop holds the key to her mother’s identity, sixteen year old Anya Piddling vows to serve Scott’s, whatever the cost. When four books of magic and myth take the world by storm, Anya begins a journey to discover the truth about the author, known only as the Weaver. Followed closely by her friends, and one surly, bitter ex-boyfriend, Anya soon realises a whole new world awaits: a world gone very wrong, with maddening whispers in the forest, magical winged kings and a dragon-boy that understands her, inside and out. But this world need a saviour… and everyone is looking at her.”

The story follows Anya who has obtained a job working at her favourite bookshop, Scott’s. She struggles with her identity as she lives in a foster home and her surname is that of the home’s founder. A rival bookshop makes a fascinating discovery of several handwritten books and the name of the author is unknown; all they have to go on is “by the weaver” written on the cover. The books were found in an abandoned manor house in North Yorkshire and the books sell 10 million copies in the space of eight weeks. The result of this puts Scott’s in turmoil; if things don’t change quickly, the shop will shut.  Anya then vows to find the other books by the weaver in the hopes of returning Scott’s to glory. Her adventures leave her not just to an abandoned house, but to another world.

I feel the need to put a disclaimer that my review is more of my experience while reading this book, than it is of the book itself.

I really enjoyed the start and getting to learn how Anya thinks and the conflict with the other bookstore had me hooked. However, after the characters ended up in the new magic world, this was where I started to feel uneasy. I expected this book to go a certain way and (I know this sounds silly but) when it did feel a little let down. It had the feel of Peter, Edmund, Susan and Lucy from the Narnia series but when they come back to the world for the second time. There was no adjustment period from any of the characters and it seemed like they were coming back home in a sense. As much as I yearn for some fantasy worlds to be real, I’d still panic a bit if any of them became my new reality.

I found myself skim-reading large sections of text from that point onwards.

I loved the relationship between Anya and Lorcan – the dragon boy – and that was the main thing that kept me powering through.
For more of my reading adventures follow me on Goodreads

For my writing adventures follow me on Twitter

For my videos, check out my Youtube

For bookish photographs follow my instagram: @charlottereadsthings

Leave a Reply

