The Neverland Wars – Audrey Greathouse

“There is envy in the sky, Peter, and when the heavens are jealous, no good can come of it.”

27396942

Blurb: “Magic can do a lot – give you flight, show you mermaids, help you taste the stars, and… solve the budget crisis? That’s what the grown-ups will do with it if they ever make it to Neverland to steal its magic and bring their children home. However, Gwen doesn’t know this. She’s just a sixteen-year-old girl with a place on the debate team and a powerful crush on Jay, the soon-to-be homecoming king. She doesn’t know her little sister could actually run away with Peter Pan, or that she might have to chase after her to bring her home safe. Gwen will find out though – and when she does, she’ll discover she’s in the middle of a looming war between Neverland and reality.”

*This book was sent to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Everyone knows that I adore Peter Pan. It is my all-time favourite story and I will eat up any adaptation or spin off to do with it. So when I was sent a copy of this book, it was safe to say I had some expectations in place.

The story follows Gwen, an American teenager whose only cares in life are getting through her life and what she’s going to wear to homecoming. That is until Peter Pan takes her sister. Gwen’s world changes as she learns that her father works for a company that deals with magic and there are many cases of the children from those involved in the industry being taken to the magical Neverland she thought only existed in the book. Matters are made worse when Peter Pan returns to claim another victim and this time, he has chosen Gwen and war is looming – a war between Neverland and reality.

What I really liked about this book was that Gwen’s reason for going to Neverland was so her sister wouldn’t be alone. However I was disappointed when the characters get there and the little sister is absent for most of the book. It seemed to make Gwen’s reasoning for going there in the first place just totally redundant. Another thing I liked was the Once Upon A Time TV show style of having fairy-tale characters but their stories exist in books and films in the real world rather than it being something completely new to Gwen. There didn’t seem to be much explanation about the war or much build up to it: the groundwork was laid as to why but the war itself just happened out of nowhere as if they hadn’t planned for it.

The aspect that kept me reading quite a confusing book was the mermaid scenes. They’re my favourite part of the Neverland universe and were so creepy and unnerving.

Overall, it was an okay read but not something I think I’ll return to in the future.

For more of my reading adventures follow me on Goodreads

For my writing adventures follow me on Twitter

For my videos, check out my Youtube

For bookish photographs follow my instagram: @charlottereadsthings

Leave a Reply

