The Sun Is Also A Star – Nicola Yoon

“To be clear, I don’t believe in fate. But I’m desperate.”

Yoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.indd

Blurb: “Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?”

*This book was sent to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*

It’s actually an interesting story how I ended up with two copies of this book: I put in a request for an advanced copy and when nearly a month had passed with no response and the publication date rolled around, I bought a copy of my own accord. Two days later, the lovely people at Penguin Random House sent me a copy. As stated above, this does not change my review in any way.

This is the second book from best-selling author Nicola Yoon and after the success and brilliance of her debut Everything, Everything it was exciting to see what she would create next.

The Sun Is Also A Star is a multiple perspective novel that follows Natasha and Daniel. Natasha is an illegal immigrant from Jamaica who, thanks to her Dad’s foolishness, is about to be deported, Daniel is a Korean-American buckling under the pressure his parents place on Natasha met but time is quickly running out.

Quite simply, this book is beautiful. Both Natasha and Daniel were such interesting, well-developed characters and I feel that the use of multiple perspectives worked really well at giving an insight into each of the character’s lives and revealed secrets that the characters don’t actively admit to each other. In addition to that, various thoughts/ideas and insights into the lives of people the duo meet in passing are explored. The latter I found to be a truly wonderful touch as when interact with strangers, for however brief the period of time, we never really think about their lives or how much we can help that individual by paying them just a little bit of kindness.

Given that Natasha has until 10pm that day to leave the country and makes several attempts to change that fact, the story doesn’t have that sense of time running out because it’s so easy to get caught up in the growing relationship between these two characters. I started reading and before I knew it the book was over.

Nicola Yoon does a brilliant job of using her platform to add to the pool of diverse books. As a white, privileged woman, I appreciate any opportunity to grow as a person by learning about other cultures and situation I myself will never experience and to that I am truly grateful for Nicola Yoon and her work.

For more of my reading adventures follow me on Goodreads

For my writing adventures follow me on Twitter

For my videos, check out my Youtube

For bookish photographs follow my instagram: @charlottereadsthings

Leave a Reply

