We ComeApart – Sarah Crossan & Brian Conaghan

“I can’t put on a brave face and pretend that at

The end of this

Things will be different.”

25310356

Blurb: “Nicu has emigrated from Romania and is struggling to find his place in his new home. Meanwhile, Jess’s home life is overshadowed by violence. When Nicu and Jess meet, what starts out as friendship grows into romance as the two bond over their painful pasts and hopeful futures. But will they be able to save each other, let alone themselves?
For fans of Una LaMarche’s Like No Other, this illuminating story told in dual points of view through vibrant verse will stay with readers long after they’ve turned the last page.”

 

*This book was sent to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

Sarah Crossan won the 2015 Carnegie Medal for her free-verse novel One, which I’ve heard a great deal about and Brian Conaghan is shortlisted for the Costa Book Prize for Children’s fiction for his novel The Bombs That Brought Us Together. This was the first book that I had read from either author and I am always a sucker for co-written books; there just seems to be an extra bit of magic decorating the pages. While I requested this book from the publisher, which they approved, I didn’t expect much from this book. This is one of those many times when my preconceived ideas have been wrong.

We Come Apart is told in two perspectives:  a Romanian boy named Nicu who wants to improve his English and fit in while worrying every day that he may be sent back to his home country, and a girl called Jess who lives in an abusive household. Both end up in series trouble which results in the pair having to spend time on a rehabilitation scheme which is where the two characters meet.

The unique factor of this book is that it’s free-verse, meaning it is essentially several poems from the point of view of each character. (Crossan’s novel One was written in the same format)  Normally I hate “simple” things. I need tons of description to really enjoy a book but the format of this book took that away. I hate to use the word “simple” but I’m sure you understand what I mean. I was left stunned by how such small verses could pack an almighty punch.

The characters are both loveable in their own ways and I found it interesting how Nicu’s character spoke in broken English; it added to the factor of how separate his and Sarah’s lives were.

I feel that it’s so easy to get caught up in the romance with this book but it’s about so much more than that. We Come Apart is about not letting differences separate you, that it’s okay to embrace them and stand up for what you believe is wrong and help someone out, regardless of what other people may think. It’s about standing up for yourself, being willing to learn about others and most importantly knowing that sometimes you have to let things go.

For more of my reading adventures follow me on Goodreads

For my writing adventures follow me on Twitter

For my videos, check out my Youtube

For bookish photographs follow my instagram: @charlottereadsthings

Leave a Reply

